Delete your Todoist account

Delete your Todoist account


If Todoist isn't the right tool for what you want to achieve, and you don't want to use it again in the future, you may choose to delete your account. Doing so will delete all of your Todoist data, and you will no longer be able to collaborate in shared projects or teams.

Warning

Account deletion is permanent and irreversible. If you choose to delete your account, you won't be able to restore it or any data associated with the account.

Export your data

If you want a copy of your data for safekeeping, you have choices depending on your needs:

Leave or delete your team workspace

If you attempt to delete your Todoist account while you're a member of a team workspace, you'll see a prompt to either leave or delete it. A team workspace needs at least one admin, so you'll be able to do one or the other depending on how it's set up:

You share the team workspace

If you share the team workspace with others, check if another member is an admin:

  1. Open the Todoist web or desktop app. 
  2. Click the team workspace name in the sidebar.
  3. Click People at the top-right. You'll see a list of all the people in the team workspace.

If you're the only admin, change someone else's role to an admin. Then, leave the team workspace.

You're the sole admin of the team workspace

If you're the sole admin of the workspace, and you've never invited anyone else, delete the team workspace. This permanently removes all team data, including projects, tasks, comments, and files.

Note

You'll only be able to manage your team workspace in the Todoist web or desktop app. If you're using Todoist for iOS or Android, switch to the web or desktop app to promote an admin or delete the team workspace.

Once you've left or deleted the team workspace, you can delete your account.

Delete your account

Once you've removed yourself from any team workspaces, and have stored your data in a safe place, it's time to delete your Todoist account:

delete_account.png

  1. Log in to Todoist at https://todoist.com. If you're having trouble logging in to your account, reset your account password.
  2. Click your avatar at the top-left.
  3. Select Settings. If you logged in using Google or your Apple Account, add a Todoist password first.
  4. Click Delete account.
  5. Enter your password.
  6. Click Delete account again to confirm. If you've set up two-factor authentication for your account, enter your authentication code to complete the process.

After deleting your Todoist account, you'll be redirected to the login page.

  1. Tap on Browse in the bottom-right.
  2. Tap the gear icon in the top-right.
  3. Tap Account. If you logged in using Google or your Apple Account, add a Todoist password first.
  4. Tap Delete Account.
  5. Tap Continue.
  6. Enter your password.
  7. Tap Delete to confirm. If you've set up two-factor authentication for your account, enter your authentication code to complete the process.

After deleting your Todoist account, you'll be redirected to the login page.

  1. Tap on Browse at the bottom-right.
  2. Tap the gear icon at the top-right.
  3. Select Account. If you logged in using Google or your Apple Account, add a Todoist password first.
  4. Tap Delete Account.
  5. Enter your password.
  6. Tap Delete to confirm. If you've set up two-factor authentication for your account, enter your authentication code to complete the process.

After deleting your Todoist account, you'll be redirected to the login page.

Cancel any paid subscriptions

If you've purchased a paid plan through direct billing, it will cancel automatically after deleting the Todoist account.

If you paid for Todoist through an in-app purchase with Apple or Google, it won't cancel automatically and you may be charged for the renewal. Learn how to cancel the subscription in the App Store or Google Play store.

Evert · Head of Customer Experience

If you uninstalled or deleted the Todoist app before following these steps, it's possible your Todoist account is still active. Make sure to log in to Todoist to check if you've deleted the account.

Request to restore your subscription for your new Todoist account

If you've deleted your Todoist account, but didn't cancel your paid subscription, the subscription won't automatically link to a new Todoist account, should you decide to sign up again. Get in touch with us to request to restore your subscription.

If you're still logged in to your old Todoist account, whether that's on your computer or smartphone:

  1. Open Todoist on that device.
  2. Click or tap your avatar.
  3. Select Settings > Account.
  4. Take a screenshot of your account settings.
  5. Open the email account associated with your Todoist account.
  6. Search your email Inbox for emails from Todoist with the subject line, "Your payment receipt for".
  7. Attach the screenshots of your account settings and the Todoist email to your message. 

Note

If you upgraded through the App Store or Google Play Store, look for the receipt in your App Store or Google Play Store account.

Request account deletion if you can’t log in

Every step above starts with logging in to your account. If you can’t log in, get in touch with us to request account deletion, and tell us which of these applies:

  • You’ve lost access to the email address on the account and can’t receive the password reset email
  • Someone else used your email address to create a Todoist account that you didn’t sign up for

We’ll take care of it.

Remove a Todoist calendar feed after deleting your account

If you previously subscribed to a Todoist calendar feed, deleting your account won’t remove it from your calendar app. You’ll need to remove the calendar from your calendar app separately.

To remove it from Apple Calendar on iPhone or iPad:

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap Calendar.
  3. Tap Accounts.
  4. Tap the Todoist entry.
  5. Tap Delete Account.

For Google Calendar or Outlook, follow the steps in Remove the Todoist calendar from your calendar app.

Get in touch

If you're having trouble deleting your Todoist account, get in touch with us and we'll sort the issue out.